EKU Announces 2024 “Experience Excellence” Superintendents of the Year

Published on April 03, 2024

Eastern Kentucky University (EKU) is proud to announce this year’s recipients of the “Experience Excellence” Superintendents of the Year, continuing a commitment to education throughout the Commonwealth of Kentucky and building on a rich, foundational history of preparing teachers and educational leaders.

The awards are given in conjunction with the Central Kentucky Educational Cooperative (CKEC) and Southeast South-Central Educational Cooperative (SESC). These partnerships demonstrate EKU’s ongoing relationship with the state’s educational cooperatives, further defining a shared mission to transform the Commonwealth through educational practice, investment and leadership.

The 2024 “Experience Excellence” Superintendents of the Year are:

  • Jeremy Ledford, Superintendent of Knox County Schools

  • Barry Lee, Superintendent of Casey County Schools

  • Matt Moore, Superintendent of Jessamine County Schools

  • Billy Parker, Superintendent of Scott County Schools

The EKU “Experience Excellence” Superintendent of the Year award employs a competitive process to identify Kentucky public school district superintendents with particularly notable talent and vision in instructional leadership, communication, professionalism and community involvement.

The award recipients have demonstrated through their practices and daily leadership the advancement of student success. They incorporate innovative thinking and bold action into their vision, and their transformational leadership style embraces guiding values of inclusion and trust.

Ledford and Lee were recognized on March 14, 2024, at the SESC Board of Directors meeting. 

Moore and Parker were recognized on March 20, 2024, at the CKEC Board of Directors meeting. 

Additionally, a single, one-time $1,000 scholarship will be awarded to an EKU-bound high school senior in each of their districts.