Professor Named AEHAP President

Published on September 13, 2016

Dr. Jason Marion, associate professor of environmental health science at Eastern Kentucky University, has been named president of the Association of Environmental Health Academic Programs.

Marion assumed the AEHAP presidency at a recent meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

AEHAP represents the interests of the 31 accredited environmental health programs across the U.S. The association’s mission is to strengthen the practice of public health by enhancing and promoting science-based environmental health education to improve human health and the environment.

The 31 programs (including EKU) accredited by the National Environmental Health Science and Protection Accreditation Council (EHAC) are the only undergraduate programs nationwide that enable graduates to enter any of the uniformed services such as the U.S. Public Health Service (including CDC),  U.S. Army and U.S. Navy, among others, as an environmental health or environmental science and engineering officer.

AEHAP also supports students with $7,000 in travel scholarships to attend the National Environmental Health Association’s annual education conference.

Marion, who joined the EKU faculty in 2012, is the first AEHAP president from Eastern since colleague Dr. Gary Brown in 2011.

For more information about EKU’s Department of Environmental Health Science, visit or