Seven EKU Faculty Members Complete Leadership Academy

Published on September 24, 2015

Seven Eastern Kentucky University faculty members recently completed the second Bluegrass Academic Leadership Academy.

Ryan Baggett, Lisa Day, Kellie Ellis, Eric Fuchs, Gill Hunter, Evelyn Parrish and Jennifer Wies were among 48 Fellows from 12 colleges and universities throughout central Kentucky. The Academy, led by the 12 presidents represented in the Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium, was established to encourage younger, mid-level faculty to consider leadership paths and provide guidance in developing the requisite skills for effective institutional leadership. The Consortium is managed by Bluegrass Tomorrow.

The class experienced full-day sessions at the new Bluegrass Community and Technical College Newtown Campus and at Centre. Interim reading and on-campus interim projects were also completed with faculty working together in teams to work on a project that benefits each participating campus. One of the key objectives of the curriculum is to expand understanding of the environment in which institutional decisions are made in the 21st century.

The Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium was chartered in 2012 with the mission of advancing the region both economically and educationally. The 12 participating regionally accredited four-year institutions are: Asbury University, Berea College, Bluegrass Community and Technical College, Centre College, Eastern Kentucky University, Georgetown College, Midway College, Morehead State University, Kentucky State University, Sullivan University, Transylvania University and the University of Kentucky. The presidents of each institution constitute the executive committee of the board of directors.