Upward Bound Students Honored for Achievements

Published on January 11, 2016

Five Eastern Kentucky University Upward Bound students were recently honored for their accomplishments in the fields of science, service, and music with 2015 Berea College Pinnacle Scholars Awards of Excellence.

EKU Upward Bound Coordinator Becca Morrison nominated Casey County seniors Sarah McDonald (Science), Kaelin Lee (Science), Jessica King (Service), and Rachael Corrone (Music), and Wolfe County senior Earon Caldwell (Music) for the honor, which celebrates achievements and dedication in the fields of science, service, or music by students from across the region.

Berea College faculty and staff reviewed the submissions and selected the top students to receive the award in each area. McDonald, Lee, King, Corrone, and Caldwell were chosen out of more than 400 nominees and were honored at a formal awards ceremony in November.

Upward Bound is a federally funded college-access program dedicated to identifying, recruiting, and supporting students who are determined to succeed academically. Applicants must meet income guidelines or potentially be the first generation in their family to earn a four-year degree. EKU’s Upward Bound program serves 121 students from the high schools in seven Kentucky counties: Casey, Estill, Jackson, Lee, Lincoln, Powell and Wolfe.