EKU Not among Debate Sites Selected

Published on September 23, 2015

Eastern Kentucky University was not among the sites selected to host a U.S. presidential or vice presidential debate in 2016.

The Commission on Presidential Debates announced today (Sept. 23) the sites and dates for three presidential debates and one vice presidential debate next year. The presidential debates will be held at: Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio, Sept. 26; Washington University, St. Louis, Oct. 9; and the University of Nevada at Las Vegas, Oct. 19. Longwood University in Farmville, Virginia, will host a vice presidential debate on Oct. 4. Hofstra University in Hempstead, New York, will serve as a backup site.

“While EKU didn’t land a debate, we are grateful for the opportunity to apply and will try again,” President Michael Benson said.

Had EKU hosted a debate, it would have been held in the University’s Center for the Arts. The Center will host the third in a series of Kentucky gubernatorial debates on Oct. 25.

Other colleges and universities vying to host a 2016 debate were: Belmont University, Nashville; the City of Birmingham, Ala.; City of McAllen, Texas; Dominican University of California in San Rafael, Calif.; Georgia College & State University, Milledgeville, Ga.; Houston Community College, Houston; Jacksonville University, Jacksonville, Fla.; State University of New York Rockland Community College, Suffern, N.Y.; Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas; and West Virginia University and West Virginia State University, Charleston, W.Va.

The Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD) was established in 1987 to ensure that debates, as a permanent part of every general election, provide the best possible information to viewers and listeners. Its primary purpose is to sponsor and produce debates for the United States presidential and vice presidential candidates and to undertake research and educational activities relating to the debates. The organization, which is a nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation, sponsored all the presidential debates in 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008 and 2012.