Spin the Wheel to Study Abroad

Published on January 30, 2020

The tension was palpable in O’Donnell Auditorium as hundreds of students waited for the chance to win an education abroad scholarship at the seventh annual Spin the Wheel Scholarship event on Wednesday, Jan. 29. Perhaps no winning student was more shocked than Landon Sexton, a senior from Lexington who is finishing five separate degree programs. He found himself at such a loss for words that he couldn’t recall his fifth major.  

Interim President David McFaddin, Provost Jerry Pogatshnik, and Landon SextonSexton revealed, though, that former diplomat and EKU alumna Deborah Alexander, one of five faculty, staff and alumni called on to draw the names of the winners, inspired him to try studying abroad.  

“Your work in criminal justice is why I’m here today,” said Sexton. 

In addition to Alexander, Vice President of Academics and Provost Jerry Pogatshnik; dean of the College of Letters, Arts and Social Science Sara Zeigler; College of Education dean Sherry Powers; and Education Abroad Director Jennifer White drew the names of the winning students.

Interim president David McFaddin, who emceed the event, called it “the essence of Eastern.”

“We are the school of opportunity,” said McFaddin. “As a first-generation college student from Appalachia who came to this institution, if you don’t take advantage of this opportunity now, you’re missing out on the transformational capacity of being a student at this institution.”

Out of the 530 students entered to win, 15 received a full study abroad scholarship, including airfare, to a destination determined by spinning the wheel. This year’s options included the British Isles, Morocco, Ghana, Thailand, Latin America, Spain, Czech Republic, Slavic Europe, student’s choice, and president’s choice.

This year’s winners were:

  • Anna Hammer; pre-health services administration; Spain

  • Ann Huff; special education; Morocco or Ghana

  • Lauren Miles; pre-occupational science; Spain

  • Kennedy Carpenter; English; President’s choice

  • Abigail Scola; criminal justice and psychology; British Isles

  • Marie Halwes; special education; Latin America

  • Abigail Hester; elementary education; Slavic Europe

  • Landon Sexton; criminal justice, political science, English, police studies and sociology; student’s choice

  • Lindsay Volpenhein; English and Communication studies; Thailand

  • Addison Wright; elementary education; president’s choice

  • Julia Field; General Business; Morocco or Ghana

  • Raquel Curtis; psychology; president’s choice

  • Shelby Helm; English teaching; Latin America

  • Kayla Puckett; biomedical sciences; president’s choice

  • Rebecca Swartz; Deaf and hard of hearing education; Latin America

The study abroad scholarships are sponsored by President’s Office; the Provost’s Office; the Education Abroad Office; the College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences; the College of Education; Friends of EKU Libraries; and corporate partner AT&T.

For more information about Education Abroad opportunities at EKU, visit studyabroad.eku.edu, visit Keith 129, email ekuabroad@eku.edu or call 859-622-8794.